- Here, "Sports Nutritionist" means the AFPA Sports Nutrition Certification, issued by American Fitness Professionals and Associates.
- The exam has 146 multiple-choice and true/false questions, is open-book, online, and can be completed over multiple sittings.
- The passing score is 85%, and a retest costs $75.
- Certification lasts two years; renewal requires 16 continuing education credits plus an $85 fee.
The Short Answer: What the Phrase Refers To
If you searched "What does Sports Nutritionist mean?", you probably ran into the term on a job posting, a social media bio, or a certificate listing and wondered whether it names a formal credential, a job title, or just a loose description. The honest answer is that it can be all three, depending on context. On this site, though, it has one precise meaning: the Sports Nutrition Certification offered by American Fitness Professionals and Associates (AFPA).
In everyday speech, a sports nutritionist is someone who advises athletes and active people on food, fluids, supplements, and fueling strategy. That is the job-title meaning, and it is covered in more depth in our guide on what a sports nutritionist is. The certification meaning is narrower and more concrete: a defined course, a defined exam, a defined passing score, and a defined renewal cycle. This article focuses on that second meaning, because it is the one that matters if you are deciding whether to enroll, study, and test.
Who Issues This Credential
The certification is issued by American Fitness Professionals and Associates, commonly shortened to AFPA. AFPA publishes a range of health, fitness, and nutrition certifications, and the sports nutrition program is one product in that catalog. The official product page is at afpafitness.com under its sports nutrition certification listing.
A few things are worth understanding about how AFPA presents this program:
- It is delivered online and self-paced. You enroll, work through the curriculum on your own schedule, and then take the exam when you are ready.
- The public page describes a course and curriculum, not a formal weighted exam blueprint. Unlike some credentials that publish exact domain percentages, AFPA's public materials do not break the exam into weighted sections.
- No external testing provider is named. The exam is taken online rather than at a proctored testing center, based on what the public page describes.
That last point shapes how you should prepare. An open-book, online exam rewards organization and familiarity with the material rather than pure recall under pressure. We cover that distinction in more detail in our difficulty guide for the exam.
Why There Is No Official Acronym to Memorize
Many candidates search for the "stand for" version of this question, expecting a tidy acronym like those attached to some clinical or collegiate credentials. For this certification, that expectation does not hold. A certification-specific acronym has not been verified, and "AFPA" is the name of the issuing organization, not an acronym for the credential itself. Treating AFPA as the credential's acronym would be inaccurate.
In practice, this means you should refer to the credential by its descriptive name: the AFPA Sports Nutrition Certification. If a listing, résumé, or conversation uses a shorthand you cannot trace back to AFPA's own materials, verify it before repeating it. Our article on what sports nutritionist stands for walks through why loose shorthand in this field causes confusion, and why employers and clients usually care more about the issuer and the scope of training than about any abbreviation.
What the Certification Actually Covers
AFPA's public description lists a set of curriculum topics rather than a formally weighted exam outline. It is important to be precise here: these are preparation curriculum topics, not an official exhaustive domain list, and official domain counts or weights are not available. For study purposes, they function as the best map of what you should be able to explain and apply.
Domain 1: Sports nutrition curriculum topics (unweighted)
This is the single content grouping used for planning, and it is not an official exam domain. The curriculum spans the following topics, which you should treat as a checklist of what the course expects you to understand.
- Macronutrients: how carbohydrate, protein, and fat support training and recovery
- Micronutrients: vitamins and minerals and their relevance to athletic performance
- Metabolism: how the body produces and uses energy during activity
- Fluid and electrolyte balance: hydration strategy and the risks of imbalance
- Fueling and recovery: what to eat and drink before, during, and after training
- Dietary patterns: how different eating approaches affect athletes
- Meal planning: translating nutrition principles into practical plans
- Supplements and ergogenic aids: what they claim, what they do, and where caution is needed
- Weight management: approaches for athletes and active clients
- Assessments and consultations: gathering client information and structuring conversations
- Special populations: adapting guidance for groups with different needs
- Gastrointestinal function: digestion and how gut issues affect training and eating
If you want a deeper walkthrough of how to organize these topics, our guide to the exam content areas explains why this credential is best studied as one broad body of material rather than as a set of weighted sections.
Where candidates tend to need the most attention
Because the exam is open-book, the challenge is rarely whether a fact exists in the course materials. It is whether you can find it quickly and apply it correctly to a scenario. Topics that blend several ideas deserve extra time: fueling and recovery combines macronutrients, timing, and fluids; supplements and ergogenic aids requires you to separate evidence from marketing; and special populations asks you to adjust general guidance rather than apply it uniformly.
How the Exam Works
The exam mechanics are straightforward, and they are a large part of what makes this credential distinct from more tightly proctored alternatives.
| Feature | What AFPA's public information states |
|---|---|
| Question count | 146 questions |
| Question types | Multiple-choice and true/false |
| Open or closed book | Open-book |
| Delivery | Online |
| Sittings | Can be saved and completed over multiple sittings |
| Time limit | Not published |
| Passing score | 85% |
| Retest fee | $75 |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Two details deserve emphasis. First, the 85% passing score is high for an open-book format. It means you can miss only a limited number of the 146 questions, so careless reading costs you. Our dedicated article on the passing score breaks down what that threshold means in practice. Second, because the pass rate is not publicly disclosed, you should be skeptical of any third-party site claiming a specific figure. We discuss what is and is not known in our piece on the pass rate.
Key Takeaway
An open-book exam does not mean an easy exam. With an 85% cutoff across 146 multiple-choice and true/false items, your goal is accuracy and speed of lookup. Build an organized set of notes tied to the curriculum topics so you can confirm answers fast rather than hunting through the course.
What the question style rewards
Multiple-choice and true/false questions reward careful reading. True/false items in particular often hinge on a single qualifier such as "always," "only," or "never." In a field where nuance matters, such as hydration, supplement claims, and special populations, absolute statements are frequently the trap. Slow down on any item that sounds too categorical.
Fees, Retakes, and Renewal
The cost structure is one of the clearer parts of this credential, although some details are not published.
- Course price: $599 USD at the sale price displayed during research, with a regular price of $699. Prices can change, so confirm on AFPA's page before you enroll.
- Exam fee: A separate member or non-member exam fee is not published, so do not assume one exists or does not exist; check at enrollment.
- Retest fee: $75 if you do not reach the 85% passing score.
- Validity: Two years.
- Renewal: 16 continuing education credits and an $85 renewal fee per certification, with fees waived for eligible CE Advantage members.
For a full budget picture, including how to think about renewal over several years, see our certification cost breakdown. The renewal cycle is also relevant to the value question; it is part of what we weigh in our analysis of whether the certification is worth it.
Who This Credential Fits
Eligibility is light. AFPA's public information lists age 18 or older and English proficiency, with no prior-experience requirement stated. That makes it accessible to people entering the field from other backgrounds. For the full picture of qualifying, read our guide to sports nutritionist requirements.
Who tends to pursue this kind of credential? Common profiles include:
- Personal trainers and group fitness instructors who want to add structured nutrition knowledge to their services
- Coaches working with recreational or amateur athletes
- Wellness and health coaches expanding into performance-focused guidance
- Career changers building foundational knowledge before deciding on further education
It is worth being candid about scope. A certification of this type signals completed coursework and a passed exam; it is not a substitute for licensure where a jurisdiction regulates dietetic practice or medical nutrition therapy. Anyone advising clients with medical conditions should understand the legal boundaries where they work. For a look at the roles that exist around this field, see our overview of sports nutritionist jobs, and for earnings context, our salary guide explains how to think about income without relying on invented figures.
A Topic-by-Topic Study Sequence
Since the curriculum is a single unweighted body, the smartest approach is to sequence topics so that foundations come before applications. Here is one way to order the material over four weeks, tied directly to the AFPA curriculum topics.
Foundations: macronutrients, micronutrients, metabolism
- Work through the core nutrient and energy-system material first
- Start a running notes document organized by topic for open-book lookup
Performance application: fluids, electrolytes, fueling, recovery
- Study hydration and electrolyte balance alongside before, during, and after training nutrition
- Add scenario notes: what changes for endurance versus strength-focused athletes
Planning and products: dietary patterns, meal planning, supplements, ergogenic aids, weight management
- Practice turning principles into sample plans
- Flag every absolute claim about supplements for careful re-reading
Client-facing and edge cases: assessments, consultations, special populations, gastrointestinal function
- Review how assessments feed recommendations
- Take timed practice questions and finalize your notes index
The reasoning is simple: fueling and supplement questions are far easier once you understand macronutrients and metabolism, and special-populations questions require the earlier material as a baseline. For a full preparation framework beyond this sequence, use our study guide and keep the one-page cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. To test yourself under realistic conditions, the practice test site is a good place to find question practice that mirrors the multiple-choice and true/false style.
Key Takeaway
Build your notes index while you study, not after. Because the exam is open-book and saves across multiple sittings, a topic-organized index lets you verify answers quickly and keeps you within the 85% threshold without rushing.
Related reading for deeper context
If you are still orienting yourself, these articles help frame the credential from different angles: the overview of the sports nutritionist certification, the explainer on what sports nutritionist certification is, and our rundown of sports nutritionist training. When you are ready to practice, head to the main practice test site to work through questions at your own pace.
Frequently Asked Questions
It refers to the Sports Nutrition Certification issued by American Fitness Professionals and Associates (AFPA). That means an online, self-paced course followed by a 146-question exam with an 85% passing score.
A certification-specific acronym has not been verified. AFPA is the name of the issuing organization, not an acronym for the credential, so it is best to use the full name of the certification when referring to it.
The exam is open-book and online, and it can be saved and completed over multiple sittings. A time limit is not published, so confirm any timing details with AFPA when you enroll.
You need 85% to pass. If you fall short, AFPA lists a retest fee of $75. Review the curriculum topics where you were least confident before retesting.
AFPA certifications are valid for two years. Renewal requires 16 continuing education credits and an $85 renewal fee per certification, with fees waived for eligible CE Advantage members.
In short, "Sports Nutritionist" here is a specific, verifiable credential with clear mechanics: an AFPA online course, a 146-question open-book exam, an 85% passing score, and a two-year renewal cycle. Understand those facts, map your preparation to the curriculum topics, and you will know exactly what you are signing up for before you spend a dollar.